# Town of Rathbone Organizational Meeting January 3, 2019

ORGANIZATIONAL TOWN BOARD MEETING OF THE RATHBONE TOWN BOARD, 8088 COUNTY RTE 21, ADDISON, NY 14801 COUNTY OF STEUBEN, WAS HELD ON THE 3<sup>rd</sup> DAY OF JANUARY 2019.

### MEMBERS PRESENT

Russell Morseman III – Town Supervisor William Reagan – Councilman Lanny Newell – Councilmen Lori Lewis – Councilman Roderick Brutsman – Councilman

#### OTHERS PRESENT

Mary Jacobson-Town Clerk, Don McCaig-Highway Superintendent, Paul Lewis, Duane Miles, Michael Knopf, Elaine Mead

Russell Morseman III, Town Supervisor, called the organizational meeting to order at 6:00pm.

## Resolution 01-19

2019 Appointments

A Town Board Resolution to appoint the following individuals to fill the positions listed below as Town Officers was motioned by Roderick Brutsman and seconded by Lori Lewis

TERESA LYONS

BUDGET OFFICERS – 1year term MARY JACOBSON

BOOK KEEPER – 1 year term

BUILDING CODE INSPECTOR – 1 year term

DOG CONTROL OFFICER – 1 year term

HEALTH OFFICER – 1 year term

TOWN ATTORNEY – 1 year term

RUSSELL MORSEMAN III

RONALD P JACOBSON

DANIEL DRAPER

WILDA HAGER

BRIAN SCHU

Roll Call Vote

Member Accept Resolution
Russell Morseman III Yes
William Reagan Yes
Lanny Newell Yes
Lori Lewis Yes
Roderick Brutsman Yes

ASSESSOR - 6 year term10/1/2018 - 9/30/2024

#### Resolution 02-19

2019 Official Depository

A Town Board Resolution to name Community Bank NA as the official depository for town monies for the Town of Rathbone was motioned by Lanny Newell and seconded by William Reagan

#### Roll Call Vote

Member	Accept Resolution
Russell Morseman III	Yes
William Reagan	Yes
Lanny Newell	Yes
Lori Lewis	Yes
Roderick Brutsman	Yes

#### Resolution 03-19

#### 2019 Official Publications

A Town Board Resolution to name the town website and The Leader as the official publication for legal notices and the town website and the Addison Post as the official publication for notice of public hearings and other communications affecting only the residents of the Town of Rathbone was motioned by William Reagan and seconded by Lori Lewis

#### Roll Call Vote

Member	Accept Resolution	
Russell Morseman III	Yes	
William Reagan	Yes	
Lanny Newell	Yes	
Lori Lewis	Yes	
Roderick Brutsman	Yes	

## Resolution 04-19

## **Bank Account Signers**

A Town Board Resolution to designate the following individuals as signers on town accounts at Community Bank, NA: Michael Knopf as signer for the justice account, Mary E Jacobson as signer for the town clerk account, the town clerk DEC account, and the tax collector account, and Russell Morseman III as the signer on the supervisor accounts was motioned by William Reagan and seconded by Lanny Newell

#### Roll Call Vote

Member	Accept Resolution	
Russell Morseman III	Yes	
William Reagan	Yes	
Lanny Newell	Yes	
Lori Lewis	Yes	
Roderick Brutsman	Yes	

### Resolution 05-19

#### **Town Policies**

A town board resolution to review and adopt the town policies including the Equal Employment Opportunity Policy, Complaints and Grievance Policy, Sex Discrimination & Sexual Harassment Policy, Code of Ethics, Cyber Policy, Drug and Alcohol Policy, Procurement Policy, Vehicle Use Policy, Lockout Tag out Policy, Workplace Violence Policy, Hearing Conservation Policy, Hazardous Material Response Policy, LEP Plan was motioned by Roderick Brutsman and seconded by Lanny Newell

## Roll Call Vote

Member	Accept Resolution	
Russell Morseman III	Yes	
William Reagan	Yes	
Lanny Newell	Yes	
Lori Lewis	Yes	
Roderick Brutsman	Yes	

#### Resolution 06-19

## 2019 Meeting Times

A Town Board Resolution to hold the regular monthly meetings of the Rathbone Town Board on the third Thursday of each month at 6:00pm with the exception of February's meeting will be held on February 7, 2019 was motioned by Lanny Newell and seconded by Lori Lewis

## Roll Call Vote

Member	Accept Resolution	
Russell Morseman III	Yes	
William Reagan	Yes	
Lanny Newell	Yes	
Lori Lewis	Yes	
Roderick Brutsman	Yes	

Resolution 07-19 2019 Mileage Rate

A Town Board Resolution to set the town mileage rate at \$0.58 per mile was motioned by Roderick Brutsman and seconded by Lori Lewis

Roll Call Vote

Member Accept Resolution Russell Morseman III Yes William Reagan Yes Lanny Newell Yes Lori Lewis Yes Roderick Brutsman Yes

Resolution 08-19 2019 Town Salaries

A Town Board Resolution to set the town salaries as presented in the 2019 Town Budget and as described below was motioned by Lanny Newell seconded by William Reagan

### Roll Call Vote

Member Accept Resolution Russell Morseman III Yes William Reagan Yes Lanny Newell Yes Lori Lewis Yes Roderick Brutsman Yes

POSITION	5	SALARY
======	=	
TOWN SUPERVISOR	\$	7,750.00
TOWN CLERK / TAX COLLECTOR	\$	9,900.00
TOWN BOARD (4 MEMBERS)	\$	1,200.00
TOWN JUSTICE	\$	4,110.00
COURT CLERK	\$	600.00
TOWN ASSESSOR	\$	7,800.00
ASSESSOR CLERK	\$	14.00 / HR
SUPERINTENDANT OF HIGHWAYS	\$	30,000.00
GRIEVANCE BOARD (2 MEMBERS/ \$225.00 each)	\$	450.00
CHAIRMAN GRIEVANCE BOARD	\$	250.00
BUDGET OFFICER	\$	2,600.00
BOOK KEEPER	\$	2,600.00
BUILDING CODE INSPECTOR	\$	3,900.00
ANIMAL CONTROL OFFICER	\$	14.00 / HR
HEALTH OFFICER	\$	400.00
TOWN ATTORNEY (\$1500.00 BUDGETED)	\$	1,000.00
HIGHWAY DEPARTMENT ( M. E. O.)	\$	19.35/ HR
UTILITY WORKER	\$	14.00/HR

Resolution 09-19 Dog Kennel Agreement

A Town Board Resolution to authorize the town supervisor to sign a dog kennel agreement for the term of one year with Ann Demark was motioned by Roderick Brutsman and seconded by Lori Lewis

Roll Call Vote

Member Accept Resolution Russell Morseman III Yes William Reagan Yes Lanny Newell Yes Lori Lewis Yes Roderick Brutsman Yes

Roderick Brutsman motioned to adjourn at 6:18PM seconded by Lori Lewis

Roll Call Vote

Member Accept Resolution Russell Morseman III Yes William Reagan Yes Yes Lanny Newell Lori Lewis Yes Roderick Brutsman Yes

Submitted By:

Mary E. Jacobson Rathbone Town Clerk